the return trip

January 24, 2010

After a hearty dose of NJ revelry last night (oh the cookie platter! the “big” sandwich!) and a dreary drive back to the woods I need some beef, hot beef. That calls for 5 Guys.

Now if you’ve not experienced Five Guys burgers you are missing the best franchise out there today. The standard issue burger contains 2 patties and the toppings are free. Ok bacon and cheese are not, but sautéed onions, sautéed mushrooms, fresh jalepeños, lettuce, tomato, mayo, hot sauce and bbq sauce, all these are gratis. Order a small fries and it comes with an extra heaping scoop! Nothing makes me happier than dowsing a big pile of thick cut skin-on crispy frites in malt vinegar which is available too (ok, well aioli would be nice but this works fine). The only thing that bothers me is that container for fries, it is a styrofoam cup. C’mon- it’s 2010 and we all know this is just wrong. And as much as I love to carry my jalepeño, sautéed onion l&t burger out the door in my belly, I hate the fry-tastic aroma in my clothes. But that won’t stop me from going back for more.

One Response to “the return trip”

  1. shi said

    i second that motion 😉

Leave a Reply

